Wolves in Britain – A quickie

Back at University, I wrote an essay on wolf conservation with an emphasis on its reintroduction to Great Britain. I was hoping to get the essay onto my blog but alas, I can’t find it on this computer. If it isn’t on my old computer when I get chance to check then I will have to spend some time on writing a decent post regarding this issue. So, I thought I would write a brief one as I won’t have time to get into a reasoned argument until half term (only 2 weeks now!).

Gray wolf. Français : Loup. Nederlands: Wolf T...

Wolves were eradicated from this country around 400 years ago, largely through persecution. There is a large body of evidence showing that re-establishing a wolf population in Scotland (maybe Yorkshire is a bit optimistic) would actually be good for the Scottish ecosystem AND boost tourism. Opposition comes largely from the sheep farming industry however, a compensatory system for any sheep losses could be offset by this projected increase in tourism.  This is basically just an introduction to my main post on the matter, which I want to try and dedicate an entire day to writing so I can really hammer it home and show you where a lot of the evidence I use comes from. It would be great to hear your initial thoughts on reintroducing wolves to Scotland, and I will incorporate these into the next post 🙂

2 responses to “Wolves in Britain – A quickie

  1. I’ve read a lot about this subject. I always thought it was sad how wolves were exterminated from Britain only a few centuries ago. Similarly, they were eradicated in many states in my own country. The lower 48 states of the U.S were virtually wolf-free for many decades, but are now making a comeback due to migration and conservation efforts, in spite of opposition. I think wolves have similarly expanded their range in Italy recently. I think the various conservation efforts around the world should do all they can to learn from each other.

    I think reintroducing wolves to Scotland sounds like a good idea. They seldom, if ever attack humans, unless provoked. Sure, they may steal a few sheep or goats here and there, but the shepherds need to find better ways of keeping them out. After so many centuries of deforestation, large parts of Britain should be allowed to go wild again.

    As Scotland reforests certain regions it makes sense to include wolves in the mix; they are as much a part of the forest as the trees, birds, and deer.

    • I do keep up a lot with the US wolf populations, especially with the hunting that seems to be getting passed to ‘control’ their populations, even though you guys have only just started getting their numbers back up!

      Wolves have made some good gains in Europe, thanks in part to the European Union, which has standard conservation pacts with the wolf having a protected status. This means that it is hard for one European country to kill wolves that re-establish a population from another country. Hence wolves re-entering parts of Germany, Italy and France in recent years. I’m going to talk about these European migrations in the big post I’m planning next week so hope you keep your eyes out 🙂

Leave a Reply

